jump to navigation

Leela Kempinski Delhi – A Quick Review May 1, 2011

Posted by simarprit in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Date: April 29, 2011 (Friday)

Purpose: NASSCOM Social Media Summit

Time: 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Location: On roundabout after Sarojni Nagar Bus Depot, just before the under bridge, Chanakya Puri, New Delhi, India

Building: Built to last, I said “Thank God, it is not yet another glass house”

Comments: Great property, dead hotel. Would love if Leela hands over management to Oberoi, Taj or ITC. I have no hesitation in saying that the management even in the state run “The Ashok” on the end of Africa Avenue (Same Road) is more effective and responsive than what I experienced in “Leela Kempinski”

Some random thoughts which were scribbled while at the hotel:

  1. Wow – This looks good, grand and Capt Nair’s style all around.
  2. Hello, hello, hello – Acoustics, how have they managed it to forget about them altogether.
  3. Chairs, most private banquet halls in Delhi offer better than them. Less cushioning, less width. Conference chairs have to factor in that many “senior executives” wear suits in Delhi year through.
  4. Service: Service? Admire our property, what service, look at that vase, look at our elephants and please remember they are different than Mayawati’s elephants.
  5. Tea: Admire our tea cups as you stand in a tight queue for 15 minutes, don’t confuse our tea cups with corporate begging bowls though you may feel like you are begging for a cup of tea to remain participative despite having to strain to hear anything because of poor acoustics.
  6. Food: Look at our serving dishes,  they are finest in the world. What is the issue if have run out of food and we may take 20 minutes to replenish it, do discussions for which you have come and admire our cutlery.
  7. Staff: Admire their uniform, why do you have to hear them saying “BCs and MCs between themselves just an earshot away from our lady responsible for running the show.
  8. Food labels: You better not be a  vegetarian if you come to visit us. We focus on food not on label.

I would not try to balance this article as there is only one side to Leela Kempinski Delhi and that is “They just don’t get it”

Comments»

1. Daman - May 1, 2011

“Our elephants are different than those of Mayawati”
loved that comment!

2. Sidharth Gupta - May 1, 2011

very nice feedback….. some of my good friends run the banquet operations at the leela’s….. i m sure it would assist them…. i’ll put the word through…

Roger Martin - May 2, 2011

This ain’t a simar, certainly went to the boiling point. what say dude?

Should have stuck to your name! to support your lousy pitch for pronouncing your name right – Simarpit or Simarprit.

simarprit - May 3, 2011

LoL… Yes I know the pitch about my name is lousy, I would appreciate and acknowledge a better pitch. I didn’t get to the boiling point, here is a sample from what all I edited to ensure that I only simmer – there were six of them which I pulled back, this one is the mildest of the six and comes specially to let everyone know what the boiling point could have been – This was the conclusion which I pulled back “If Captain Nair wants his guests to start enjoying making love to a mannequin, I am sorry, I don’t want to be a guest” – My commitment to “Simmer” and not boil is holding me back, otherwise the rest 5 would have followed right away and I would have been compelled to change my pitch about myself. Send me a new pitch Martin and the remaining five will surely follow. If you have a positive experience do share it here, I would give 100% respect to it and publish it.

3. Micheal - September 1, 2012

Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web
site is magnificent, let alone the content!

simarprit - September 2, 2012

Thanks Micheal for your generous praise.
Blogging to me is not a profession, it is an expression, expressions are easy, aren’t they? I started blogging with geocities.com in 1998 but couldn’t maintain it, software needed too much effort. I started with WordPress five years back and it publishes my expression seamlessly.


Leave a Reply

