jump to navigation

Credit Card Fraud Mechanism Unearthed January 18, 2009

Posted by simarprit in Uncategorized.
trackback

Just few minutes back I had gone to buy some grocery, fruits and vegetables to an outlet of one of the most respected chains. This is how I saw a credit card fraud happening, my invoice was being used for that, though I was not directly being defrauded:

  1. They were using one billing counter, while they had four counter staff and making customers wait
  2. While he was doing my punching, I could see another guy coming over and telling him something
  3. Suspecting some foul-play, I decided to pay strictly cash
    I turned behind to take the cash out, this boy went ahead and swiped a credit-card quickly
  4. Crosschecked whether by mistake I gave the card? Realizing that I have not. I knew I was seeing a classic case of smart credit card fraud happening.
  5. Knew payment summary would come at the end, so I must take the complete invoice to ensure he doesn’t tear that part, and I know exactly what has been done with that credit card
  6. Paid cash and got my stuff cleared for taking-out. I needed a stamped complete invoice for the proof
  7. Having secured the same, I pointed out to him casually that I have paid cash and it has shown credit card usage in my invoice.
  8. A person came forward who called himself store manager, he said it is a mistake and told that he will correct it with pen – I said I need correct receipt for my books of accounts.
  9. They started punching the whole bill again, that credit card was quickly taken back.
  10. Realizing that they may-not handme over the fraudulent invoice, I decided to step out as I had enough evidence to report to the chain or to the police.
  11. Later someone calling himself  “real”  store manager came to my car, took my details and a written complaint

Why I am not giving the name of the store rightnow? I would like to take legal protection before I do that. I would also like to give an opportunity to the store to act on my complaint

So quick takeaways:

  1. Be vigilant
  2. Check the invoice thoroughly for quantity, items and payment method
  3. If you are serious to take up the matter, protect yourself, maintain cool and collect all evidence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

